Morocco ‘s little switzerland

Morocco ‘s little switzerland

It bears a nickname that is peculiar in Morocco: the little Switzerland. Better! In 2013 this small town of 30,000 inhabitants, located in the High Atlas was ranked second cleanest city in the world. Head of the Province of Ifrane in the administrative region of Fes – Méknes. Its tourist potentials are numerous, through  the sites and other sublime places that surround the city, which are exceptional and of rare beauty. It was one of the favorite places of the late King Hassan II, who often went on holiday,  to ski in his Royal Palace located on the heights of the city, just opposite the Prairie des Amours. It is a beautiful palace, florid and very large, but only one part of the roof of one of the buildings is visible. The beauty of this region lies in its diversity of contrasting landscapes in a calm atmosphere where the purity of the air, with the fragrant odors of essence of cedar and Thuja, charm the souls of the visitors. In accordance with its geographical location, Ifrane has always been a summering center for holiday camps, and a place of change, for visitors, for a long time.

Numerous sites to be visited include:

The National Park

The National Park

The largest cedar forest in the world is found in this park, whose biodiversity represents a huge asset for the region. Several lakes or Dayats abound in the nearby areas : Dayat Aoua, Dayat Ahechlaf, Dayat Ifrah, Dayet Afennourire, Tizquite Park, Val d’Ifrane, the sources of Ain Vitel … among others. This park is also one of the most representative,  for its landscapes of exceptional beauty. It is a favorite place for hikers and freshwater fishers, as well as Barbary monkeys, an endangered species that survives thanks to the visitors who feed them.

The Lion of Ifrane

The Lion of Ifrane

Il trône majestueusement au centre ville et reste l’un des emblèmes de la cité. Il est certainement l’un des plus photographiés dans toute la région. L’auteur de cette sculpture en pierre, qui date de la seconde guerre mondiale est attribué, tantôt à un prisonnier allemand, tantôt à un français, le girondin Henri Moreau.

It sits majestically in the city center, and remains one of the monuments of the city. It is certainly one of the most photographed site in the whole region. The author of this stone sculpture, which dates from the Second World War, is attributed, sometimes to a German prisoner, sometimes to a Frenchman,  Henri Moreau.

The refuge of the Waterfalls

The refuge of the Waterfalls

On your way to the Zaouia Moulay Abdessalam a dozen kilometers from the city, you will discover the enchanting site : the refuges of the waterfalls. When the snows of the High Atlas starts melting , the waterfalls are more majestic. An ideal place for a picnic, or to cool off during the hot weather.

The principal Park of Ifrane

Many parks and green spaces surround the city. One of the most frequented is the park of the city center, called “La Prairie des Amours” which faces the Royal Palace. It is surrounded by huge trees and flowers, and has trails for walking. A perfect place to relax

Springs of Oum Rabii

Springs of Oum Rabii

They are seven , and constitute the birth of the largest river in Morocco ( the tiver Oum Rabii ). The site is splendid and its visitors are numerous. Small restaurants are located in this setting and offer a multitude of dishes based on local products.

It is recommended to go there in the spring, between March and May, when the weather is more enjoyable.

Lakes and water bodies

Lake Zerrouka: located at the exit of the city, it supplies Ifrane with drinking water and remains the dreamed place of the fishermen in fresh water.

Ain Mersa: A place located 7km from the city , which attracts visitors in search of refreshment and inspiration.

Sidi Mimoun lake: It is part of the circuit of the lakes and remains a privileged stage. Located about twenty kilometers from the city.

Amghass lake: located 26 km from Azrou, two of the rosette of water bodies built on this wadi, for the pleasure of salmonid fishers.

University of  Al Akhawyn

It is surrounded by lush vegetation, was founded in 1993 and remains one of the most important in Morocco. The greatest elites have gone through it. It has all the facilities worthy of the biggest universities in the world including its own mosque. It is the pride of the city.

Michlifen.

 Ski Resort

Michlifen. Ski Resort

 

One  of the most beautiful ski resorts of the Kingdom located in the Middle Atlas a few km from Ifrane. It is located in a huge crater of volcanic origin at 1800meters altitude. In times of heavy snow, it never goes empty, especially during winter school holidays. Families come to ski to the delight of the children. It is made up of 5 ski slopes, and  surrounded by a huge and beautiful cedar trees.

Vittel Source

Anotr fairy  place, frequented by tourists, for picnics. It is crossed by a small river, sometimes fishy.

The fish farm of Azrou

The fish farm of Azrou

This is a private fish farm situated in  Ain Aghbale,  which raises rainbow trout and salmon, as well as smoked fillets.

Besides these tourist attractions, which remain among the main attractions, Ifrane counts:

41 sites with a strong natural interest (waterfalls, lakes, geological sites, belvederes, forest areas …)

8 heritage sites (Cathedral, Akchmir Rock, Koudiat …)

5 recreation sites (Gardens, Squares …)

Local products

Ifrane abounds of local products of excellent quality. These include the production of vegetables and fruits (cherries, plums, apples, figs, nectarines, peaches, almonds, pears …) small red berries: raspberries, strawberries, honey, aromatic and medicinal plants, floral waters. Production of jam,  and compotes of cherries and plums. You can also taste good dishes with morels, trout of the Atlas, meat of goats … ..

Popular Arts

Amazigh,  Ahidous troops .

Craft

Carpet weaving, Hanbal, slippers, Berber tents, wood carving, wrought iron …

History

Ifrane knew human presence from the Neolithic period, as strongly evidenced by the caves, such as Tizquite, and the archaeological sites where remains were discovered. During the contemporary period, the region was later inhabited by a population of two great Berber tribes, namely the Ait Mguild and the Ait Mrir, and partly of the Aït Seghrouchen, nomadic tribes moving between the green pastures of Timahdite and Azrou to the borders of the country of  Zayanes.

Geography

Ifrane, is the capital of the province of Ifrane, with an area of 3,573 kelometers square,  administratively composed of two municipalities (Ifrane and Azrou), five caïdats (Tizguit, Dait Aoua, Ain Leuh, Timahdit and Irklaouen) And eight rural districts (Tizguite, Dait Aoua, Ain Leuh, Sidi El Mekhfi or Sidi Addi, Timahdite, Ben Smim, Oued Ifrane and Tigrigra.) The new administrative division makes the province part of the Fes-Meknes region.

Climate

Ifrane ‘s climate is  very humid and temperate . The northern slope of the Middle Atlas Mountains is indeed the most watered area of Morocco, after the Rif mountain range. Precipitation occurs mostly in winter. In winter it snows a lot on the city.

Photos

Please Enter a valid category name

Vidéothèque

La petite Suisse du Maroc

La petite Suisse du Maroc

Elle porte un surnom qui lui est bien propre au Maroc : la petite Suisse. Mieux ! En 2013 cette petite ville de 30.000 habitants, située dans le Haut Atlas a été classée deuxième ville la plus propre au monde . Chef lieu de la Province d’Ifrane dans la région administrative de Fès – Méknes . Son potentiel touristique est énorme tant les sites et autres endroits sublimes qui entourent la ville sont exceptionnels et d’une rare beauté. C’était l’un des endroits préféré du défunt Roi Hassan II qui venait souvent en villégiature ou pour skier dans son Palais Royal situé sur les hauteurs de la ville, juste en face de la Prairie des Amours.   C’est un beau palais, fleuri et très grand, mais seule l’une des parties du toit d’un des bâtiments est visible. La beauté de cette contrée réside dans ses diversités de paysages contrastées dans une ambiance calme où la pureté de l’air aux odeurs parfumées d’essence du cèdre et du Thuya embaume les âmes des visiteurs. Eu égard à sa situation géographique, Ifrane a de tout temps été un centre d’estivage pour les colonies de vacances et un lieu de dépaysement pour les visiteurs et ce depuis fort longtemps.

Nombreux sont les sites à visiter dont notamment :

Parc national d’Ifrane

Parc national d’Ifrane

La plus grande forêt de cèdres au monde se trouve dans ce Parc dont la biodiversité représente un énorme atout pour la région. Plusieurs lacs ou Dayats pullulent dans les environs : Dayat Aoua, Dayat Ahechlaf, Dayat Ifrah, Dayet Afennourire, le Parc de Tizquite, le Val d’Ifrane, les sources de Ain Vitel entre autres. Ce Parc est également l’un des plus représentatifs par ses paysages d’une beauté exceptionnelle. C’est un endroit préféré des randonneurs et des pêcheurs en eau douce, ainsi que des singes de Barbarie, une espèce en voie de disparition mais qui survit grâce aux visiteurs qui les nourrissent.

Le lion d’Ifrane

Le lion d’Ifrane

Il trône majestueusement au centre ville et reste l’un des emblèmes de la cité. Il est certainement l’un des plus photographiés dans toute la région. L’auteur de cette sculpture en pierre, qui date de la seconde guerre mondiale est attribué, tantôt à un prisonnier allemand, tantôt à un français, le girondin Henri Moreau.

Le refuge des cascades

Le refuge des cascades

En allant vers la Zaouia Moulay Abdessalam à une dizain,e de kilomètres dela ville, vous découvrirez le site enchanteur du refuges des cascades. Quand les neiges du Haut atlas commencent à fondre , les cascades sont plus majestueuses. Un endroit idéal pour le piquenique, ou pour se rafraîchir lors des fortes chaleurs.

Le parc principal d’Ifrane

De nombreux parcs et espaces verts entourent la ville. L’un des plus fréquentés reste le parc du centre ville , appelé «  la Prairie des Amours » qui fait face au Palais Royal . Il est entouré d’immenses arbres et de fleurs et est doté de pistes pour la promenade. Un endroit parfait pour la détente.

Les sources de l’oued Oum Rabii

Les sources de l’oued Oum Rabii

Elles sont au nombre de sept et constituent la naissance du plus grand fleuve du Maroc. Le site est splendide et ses visiteurs sont nombreux. Des petits restaurants de sont ipmplantés dans ce décor et offre une multitude de plats à base de produits du terroir.

Il esrt recommandé de s’y rendre au printemps, entre mars et Mai  ou le temps est plus agréable.

Les plans d’eau

Plan d’eau Zerrouka :situé à la sortie de la ville, il alimente Ifrane en eau potable et reste l’endroit rêvé des pêcheurs en eau douce.

Plan d’eau d’Ain Mersa : Endroit situé à 7km de la ville et qui attire des visiteiurs en quête de ressourcement et d’inspiration

Plan d’eau de Sidi Mimoun : Il fait partie du circuit des lacs et reste une étape privilégiée. Situé à une vingtaine de kilomètres de la ville.

Plan d’eau d’Amghass : situé à 26 km d’Azrou, deux parmi le chapelet de plans d’eau aménagés sur cet oued, pour le plaisir des pêcheurs de salmonidés.

Université Al Akhawyn

Elle se trouve en plein milieu d’une végétation luxuriante. Elle a été créée en 1993 et reste l’une des plus importantes du Maroc. Les plus grandes élites sont passées par là  . Elle dispose de tous les équipements dignes des plus grandes universités mondiales y compris sa propre mosquée. Elle est la fierté de la cité.

Michlifen.

La  station de Ski

Michlifen. La station de Ski

C’est l’une des plus belles stations de ski du Royaume situé dans le Moyen Atlas à quelques km d’Ifrane. Elle se trouve dans un immense cratère d’origine volcanique à 1800m d’altitude. En période de fortes neiges, elle ne désemplit pas, notamment lors de vacances scolaire d’hiver. Des familles viennent pour skier au plus grand bonheur des enfants. Elle est constituée de 5 pistes skiables et est entourée d’une immense et superbe cédraies.

Source Vittel

Egalement un endroit féérique, fréquentée par les touristes, pour des piqueniques. Il est traversée par une petite rivière, parfois poissonneuse.

La ferme piscicole d’Azrou

La ferme piscicole d’Azrou

 C’est une ferme piscicole privée à Ain Aghbale qui élève des truites arc en ciel et le saumon, ainsi que les filets fumés .

Outre ces sites touristiques, qui restent parmi les principales attractions, Ifrane compte :

  • 41 sites à fort intérêt naturel (cascades, lacs, sites géologiques, belvédères, espaces forestiers …)
  • 8 sites d’héritage (Cathédrale, Rocher Akchmir, Koudiat…)
  • 5 sites de récréation (Jardins, Places…)

Produits du terroir

Ifrane regorge de produits du terroir d’une excellente qualité. On y trouve notamment la production de légumes et  fruits (Cerises, prunes, pommes, figues, nectarines, pêches, amandes, poires…) petits baies rouges: framboises, fraises, miel, plantes aromatiques et médicinales, eaux florales.  Production de confiture et compotes de cerises et de prunes. On peut aussi déguster de bons plats aux morilles, de truite de l’Atlas, viande de caprins…..

Arts populaires

Amazigh, les troupes Ahidous .

Artisanat

tissage de tapis, Hanbal, babouches, tentes berbères, sculpture sur bois, fer forgé…)

Histoire

Ifrane a connu une présence humaine durant la période néolithique, en atteste les grottes , comme celle de Tizquite et les sites archéologiques où fûrent découvert des vestiges. Durant la période contemporaine, la région sera habitée plus tard par une population issue de deux grandes tribus berbères , à savoir, les Ait Mguild et les Ait Mrir et une partie des Aït Seghrouchen, tribus nomades qui se déplacent entre les pâturages verdoyants de Timahdite et Azrou jusqu’aux confins du pays Zayanes.

Géographie

Ifrane, est le chef-lieu de la province d’Ifrane dont la superficie est de 3 573 km² et qui est administrativement composée de deux municipalités (Ifrane et Azrou), cinq caïdats (Tizguit, Dait Aoua, Ain Leuh, Timahdit et Irklaouen) et huit communes rurales (Tizguite, Dait Aoua, Ain Leuh, Sidi El Mekhfi ou Sidi Addi, Timahdite, Ben Smim, Oued Ifrane et Tigrigra. Selon le nouveau découpage administratif, la province fait partie de la région de Fès-Meknès.

Climat

Ifrane bénéficie d’un climat très humide et tempéré   Le versant nord des montagnes du Moyen-Atlas est en effet la région la plus arrosée du Maroc après la chaîne de montagnes du Rif. Les précipitations ont lieu essentiellement en hiver.  En hiver il neige beaucoup sur la ville.

Photos